The First Dance

The First Dance

The clouds were ready to come in if only I would open the window. The mist was flowing across hiding the high rises and it felt as I was suspended in mid air. Clouds above me, clouds below me. The rain came down and turned the leaves lush green . The smell of wet earth wafted up. It brought back a memory lost in time; of the first time I saw a peacock dance.

When it seemed it had danced….just for me.

Image | This entry was posted in Nature, Rain, Relections and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

36 Responses to The First Dance

  1. haridasgowra says:

    Dancing dancing evergreen peacock@
    #wordpress!

  2. Ruch says:

    Such a breathtakingly beautiful pic and the words that accompany it are equally beautiful. You made me smell the wet earth !

  3. kulkdeepa says:

    Wow! What a beautifully worded piece on a beautiful weather day!:-) loved it.

  4. Nandita Saini says:

    Goodness Jayanti… It has been a beautiful few days hasnt it? Your words capture it perfectly… And you once had a peacock dance just for you!! Sigh!!!!

    • zaynti says:

      Yes, Nandita, It has been a great last few days. Yesterday’s downpour made me remember this moment. I had never seen a peacock dance and this one was out in the lush green open; not in a zoo or some place. Will never forget this sight. It went on and on oblivious to its audience or may be aware of it ? ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. Beena says:

    What a beautiful capture and such a great writing here. Fantastic!! Please keep writing and posting awesome photographs.

  6. Rachna says:

    I see the pic. I read your description. I close my eyes. And the magic begins. I hear the peacock dance on the clouds. And I feel the rain bathing my soul and can feel the trees experiencing the same. Am feeling so quite and so peaceful and happy. I open my eyes. Though am so still I feel I am the peacock dancing with my beautiful wings.

  7. amita says:

    wow nice pic n such divine dance ..felt like saw myself..pleasure !!

  8. Binaifer Bulsara says:

    I so vividly remember this!! our lovely holiday, great stay, awesome food, gupshup over tea with my travel buddies and the peacock dance was all that we needed to make this one of our most memorable trip ๐Ÿ™‚

  9. Beauty flows in the composition of the picture and in the words of your writing. Thanks for sharing. So evocative, given the weather we are seeing these days ๐Ÿ™‚

  10. Kriti says:

    Jayanti, rain for me is very uplifting and soul cleansing. When it rained yesterday I wished I could sit and enjoy listening to the raindrops with a warm cuppa and write. You just did that for me:) beautiful:) and yes I must share my first peacock dancing picture. I had the exact same feeling:)

    • zaynti says:

      Kriti: thank you for sharing what you felt. It is always feels good to receive feedback ‘cos posting for me is a way of communicating and reaching out to people. And feedback means one has been successful somewhat. Please do share your picture. i’d love to see it. Mine merely adds some colour to my words. Yours will be a post in its own right even without words. ๐Ÿ™‚

  11. Gaganpreet says:

    Jayanti , you really have a way with words . Love the way you explain your thoughts ….

  12. Medha says:

    Wonderful Indeed Jayanti

  13. Lovely post. The words smell of fresh earth. Your post reminded me of the first time I saw a peacock dance in a small island in Greece (Crete) amidst the Minoan ruins. It was such an overwhelming moment for me, though the pea hen he was trying to impress was not quite flattered.

  14. bon says:

    wow..zay..what a capture n what an expression…nature at its best ..peacock dance adds to the magic…along with your lovely expression..

  15. vivek gupta says:

    Great Articulation Jayanti!!

    • zaynti says:

      Vivek, how absolutely wonderful to see you stopping by. Thank you so much for the generous praise. Hope to see you more often, at least here on the blog ๐Ÿ™‚

  16. Merja Paasimรคki says:

    How beautiful, transported me to a distant time and place.

    • zaynti says:

      Merja, peacocks when they squawk create cacophony; but they’re one of the most beautiful beings to look at. Thank you for your comment. Hope we watch a dance together some day. ๐Ÿ™‚

  17. vasanthi says:

    Love the words here .. poetic ๐Ÿ™‚

  18. parul says:

    a reminder and reassurance that life is beautiful. thanks jp

Leave a Reply

