On a cold and wintry night…

On a cold and wintry night

Walking down the street
Homeward bound
Alone yet not alone
In a city which never dies
Buzzing with activity
A pair of hands came forward

Help thought I

They reached from behind
They groped
They fondled
They pushed
They pulled
They pressed

Down on me
On my self
And on my soul
Left nothing untouched

I cried out
I howled
I was in pain
Inside and out

But the whole world went deaf
For a few minutes, the entire world went deaf

Broken and bruised
I covered my wounds
I took a bath
But I still felt so unclean

Will I ever heal?
Will I ever be whole?
Will I ever feel safe?

Because
I know
They will still be around
In dark alleys
In crowded buses
On busy roads
Amidst long queues
In days
In nights
In evenings
In every time lapse

But I still have to go back
On a cold and wintry night
Walking down the street
Homeward bound
Alone yet not alone
In a city which never dies
Buzzing with activity

This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to On a cold and wintry night…

  1. APOORV MEHRA says:

    WE DO CERTAINLY HOPE THAT THERE SHALL BE ONE DAY WHEN NO WOMEN / GIRLS FEEL SCARED IN GOING BACK ALONE AT WHATEVER TIME.I KNOW IT IS ASKING FOR TOO MUCH BUT LET US ALL MAKE OUR BIT IN EFFORTS TO REACH THAT STAGE.SHOULD START FROM ALL MOTHERS AT HOME WHO SHOULD TEACH THEIR SONS THE VALUE OF A WOMEN , ALL FATHER WHO SHOULD TELL HIS SON , THAT A WOMEN IS NOT AN OBJECT.A MOTHER AND FATHER SHOULD INCULCATE THE VALUES FROM HOME AND IF THIS ACTUALLY STARTS HAPPENING- YES IT IS THEN WE CAN THINK OF REACHING THE STAGE WHERE NO WOMEN / GIRL FEELS INSECURE.OTHER MEASURES OF LAW , DETERRENTS WILL ALL BE ALSO MORE USEFUL ONCE THIS HAPPENS. WE HOPE AND PRAY- THAT DAY COMES SOON.

    • zaynti says:

      Thank you for your time in stopping and reading this post, Apoorv. It is a fight we all have to fight together to leave the world a safe place for our children.

  2. Rachna says:

    Beautifully written…It does leave the soul stirred, and stomach churned … Can well feel the pain!

  3. Dee says:

    So touching, Jayanti. As a teenager, I recall dashing to the end of a deserted lane (notorious for groping incidents) near my maternal home just to make the safety of the turn. Years later, as a grown, married adult woman, I could feel my heart quicken with dull foreboding while crossing the same lane even in the safe confines of my car. When will these streets be safe? Nothing has changed over the years – in fact, it has become worse with crimes more bestial and heinous.

Leave a Reply

